Author Topic: 90% Black Screen when testing map :D  (Read 2812 times)

Offline Zidster

• Dagger Carrier
90% Black Screen when testing map :D
« on: August 09, 2009, 10:55:11 am »
Hello, I'm new to this editor and I just wanted to pass some time with it.

Now I've made my first map and selected starting point and so on.

When I want to test the map, the game starts.

All I see is a "90% Black Screen", means:

I see the compass, the HP and MP Bars, but that's it. The rest is black. When I press the left or right arrow key my figure seems to turn the chosen direction, as I can tell cuz off the compass.

The sample of KOF works pretty well, so what to do?

Btw: The sample is in japanese, because it wasn't translated. But I can build a game on the language I want to (like programming npc's text or something?))???

thank you so much ^__________^

Offline dmpdesign

• Moonlight Retiree
  • Administrator
  • Dark Slayer Destroyer
    • http://swordofmoonlight.com
Re: 90% Black Screen when testing map :D
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2009, 01:19:15 pm »
likely your test map has a draw distance of 0. 

When on the map editor, choose map settings at the bottom left corner.  There is a draw distance and fog distance.  I recommend a draw distance of between 20-25 and a fog distance (depending on the atmosphere) of about .5.

see if that helps.
- Todd DuFore (DMPDesign)
Site Founder

Offline Holy_Diver

• Holy Diver
  • Archmage of Light
  • This account won't read/reply to Private Messages
Re: 90% Black Screen when testing map :D
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2009, 04:54:42 pm »
The drawing settings shouldn't make the game black. Either your light is zero (not likely unless you made it so) or you haven't made a map! Or you have and your start point is not inside your map.