Author Topic: SOM Tutorial  (Read 16562 times)

Offline dmpdesign

• Moonlight Retiree
  • Administrator
  • Dark Slayer Destroyer
    • http://swordofmoonlight.com
SOM Tutorial
« on: January 19, 2009, 11:50:47 am »
Soon I will have a step by step tutorial/manual for using the SOM tool, as well as guides to download and share addons.

In the meantime, check the main page www.swordofmoonlight.com for updates on the SOM sections.

Please check back soon.
- Todd DuFore (DMPDesign)
Site Founder

Offline ToxicMinotaur

• Long Sword Swinger
SOM Tutorial
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2009, 01:21:40 am »
Might be stupid question but I'm new to game making so...
Whenever I test a map I find that nothing likes to fully render till I'm right on top of it. I know I'm just not setting something correctly but I need some help.
Thanks.

Offline dmpdesign

• Moonlight Retiree
  • Administrator
  • Dark Slayer Destroyer
SOM Tutorial
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2009, 01:30:27 am »
It could be several things, but first, let me know the system specs of the machine youre running on...and what version of direct x youre using.

Secondly, check the map settings option, and see what your draw distance is, and your fog distance is and so on.  I recommend starting with a draw distance of about 25.

Thirdly, SOM has some quirks, and if you leave blank sections on the map between two sections you won't see the section beyond the blank gap until youre right up on it.  To fix this problem (if you want a blank gap) use the dummy no collission map piece located toward the bottom of the set.

If none of this stuff has helped, I will need more details about what youre making.
Site Founder

Offline ToxicMinotaur

• Long Sword Swinger
SOM Tutorial
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2009, 11:23:31 am »
Ok...specs
XP home SP2
2.16 GHz
512mb RAM
Direct X 9.0a
NVIDIA GeForce 4 something?

Draw dist. 30
Fog opts. all at 0
No blank spaces between filled spaces

If I left something important out sorry.
Thanks for helping